Breastfeeding: Empowering Parents – a New eBook

  Breastfeeding: Empowering Parents, is a brand new eBook as well as a paperback available from Amazon.com or Amazon.ca or other Amazon websites. The book contains real, practical information for women, their partners and health professionals. In its interactive version, it provides links for further reading and for videos which demonstrate the topics...

0
3

To Sleep, perchance to dream

It is the dream of every parent of young babies and toddlers to get some sleep. Endless longing to be able to sleep influences how people feel about breastfeeding since they attribute much of their lack of sleep to breastfeeding.   “Sleep issues” are among the top...

0
15

Starting babies on food

Modern medicine, in a worthwhile desire to avoid problems associated with poor eating habits, has developed rules about the feeding of food to babies that have made eating food a complicated, frightening and a tiresome exercise. These rules are even more complicated when parents must choose...

0
12

Relactation

If you are looking to induce lactation (in order to breastfeed a baby born by surrogate or an adopted baby), rather than to relactate, see this article.   It is possible to start breastfeeding again even after you have stopped for several weeks or months   However, first of all, it...

0
15

So-called Breastmilk Jaundice

See the article on early onset jaundice.   So-called “breastmilk jaundice” is considered abnormal by many physicians, perhaps even the majority of physicians.  Even those who understand that it is usually normal for babies of 3 or 6 weeks of age and even older to have visually...

0
6

One sided feedings or two?

Many mothers are now being advised to feed the baby on one breast at a feeding only.  Though the number who email me about breastfeeding problems varies from day to day, usually, on any given day about 1 in 4 of mothers experiencing breastfeeding problems...

0
18

Domperidone

Domperidone can be very useful to increase the mother’s milk supply and, more importantly, milk flow from the mother to the baby.   An important point: If all mothers had the best start with breastfeeding, from the very start, having as few interventions as is reasonable during labour...

0
8

QUI TRANSFÈRE LE LAIT?

La vidéo ci-dessous est celle d'un bébé né à 35 semaines de gestation, maintenant âgé de 5 semaines (voir ici une version plus large et longue de cette vidéo). La mère allaite et complète avec un biberon. La vidéo montre que la notion largement retenue selon...

0
0

Relactation

Si vous cherchez à induire une lactation plutôt qu’à relacter, dans le but d’allaiter un nourrisson né d’une mère porteuse ou un bébé adopté, regardez cet article. (cet article sur l'induction d'une lactation n'est pas encore disponible en français)   Il est possible de reprendre l’allaitement même...

0
0

Allaiter un Bambin

Ce ne sont pas les avis qui manquent sur les bambins allaités. « S’il est assez grand pour réclamer le sein, il est trop grand. » « S’il a des dents, c’est que c’est temps d’arrêter. » Et fréquemment « Allaiter un bambin d’un an ? C’est dégoûtant. » et même les...

0
0

La gastro-entérite chez le bébé allaité

Gastro-entérite chez le bébé allaité (vomissement et diarrhée dus à une infection)   Grâce à un système complet de facteurs immunitaires présents dans le lait maternel, agissant entre eux, les bébés allaités exclusivement contractent très rarement une gastro-entérite. S’ils le font, il est peu commun qu’elle soit sévère....

0
5

ALLAITER UN BEBE MALADE (2ème partie)

Lorsqu’un bébé est malade, atteint d’une infection aiguë ou chronique, Il est important de faire tous les efforts pour que la mère continue de l’allaiter. En fait, ce n’est pas seulement possible, mais bénéfique et pour le bébé et pour la mère. Les bébés malades...

0
4

ALLAITEMENT ET MALADIE CHEZ LA MÈRE (2ème PARTIE)

Voir aussi ALLAITEMENT ET MALADIE CHEZ LA MÈRE (1ère PARTIE)   Certaines maladies infectieuses   Une discussion complète sur toutes les maladies infectieuses et l’allaitement pourrait donner un livre de la taille de Guerre et Paix. Je vais donc essayer de parler, brièvement, de celles qui causent le plus...

0
3