Breastfeeding and Maternal Illness Part 2

See also Breastfeeding and Maternal Illness  Part 1     Some infectious diseases   A full discussion of all infectious diseases and breastfeeding could result in a book the size of War and Peace, so I will try to deal, briefly, with only those that seem to cause the most problems...

0
0

Breastfeeding and Maternal Illness Part 1

Mothers are frequently told they must stop breastfeeding if they are sick, either acutely or chronically. In fact, it seems that maternal illness is taken as an opportunity to “give mothers permission to stop breastfeeding” instead of re-assuring them that they can safely continue breastfeeding....

0
0

Breastfeeding the Sick Baby Part 2

When a baby is ill, either with an acute or a chronic illness, it is important to make every effort to ensure that the mother continue breastfeeding him. In fact, it is not only possible, but good for both the baby and the mother to...

0
0

Gastroenteritis in the Breastfed Baby

Gastroenteritis in the breastfed baby (vomiting and diarrhea due to infection)    Because of a whole system of interacting immune factors present in breastmilk, exclusively breastfed babies only rarely get gastroenteritis. If they do get gastroenteritis, it is unusual for it to be severe. And the best...

0
0

Breastfeeding a Toddler

There is no lack of “opinions” about the breastfeeding of a toddler. “If he’s old enough to ask for it, he’s too old.” “If he’s got teeth, it’s nature’s way of saying, it’s time to stop.” And not rarely: “Breastfeed a 1 year old? That’s...

0
1

Maternal Medications and Breastfeeding

Here is one of the most common questions I receive: “I have been put on drug x and have been told I cannot breastfeed. Is that true?”   The short answer is: Almost no medication taken by the mother requires her to stop or interrupt breastfeeding. The...

0
5

Using a lactation aid to supplement

Supplementing breastfeeding with a lactation aid at the breast   Many mothers feel, rightly or wrongly, that they do not produce enough milk for their babies and end up supplementing their babies with donated breastmilk or formula. Their belief usually starts immediately after birth because in too...

0
1

La gastro-entérite chez le bébé allaité

Gastro-entérite chez le bébé allaité (vomissement et diarrhée dus à une infection)   Grâce à un système complet de facteurs immunitaires présents dans le lait maternel, agissant entre eux, les bébés allaités exclusivement contractent très rarement une gastro-entérite. S’ils le font, il est peu commun qu’elle soit sévère....

0
6

ALLAITER UN BEBE MALADE (2ème partie)

Lorsqu’un bébé est malade, atteint d’une infection aiguë ou chronique, Il est important de faire tous les efforts pour que la mère continue de l’allaiter. En fait, ce n’est pas seulement possible, mais bénéfique et pour le bébé et pour la mère. Les bébés malades...

0
4

ALLAITEMENT ET MALADIE CHEZ LA MÈRE (2ème PARTIE)

Voir aussi ALLAITEMENT ET MALADIE CHEZ LA MÈRE (1ère PARTIE)   Certaines maladies infectieuses   Une discussion complète sur toutes les maladies infectieuses et l’allaitement pourrait donner un livre de la taille de Guerre et Paix. Je vais donc essayer de parler, brièvement, de celles qui causent le plus...

0
3

ALLAITEMENT ET MALADIE CHEZ LA MÈRE (1ère PARTIE)

Il est souvent recommandé aux mères d’interrompre l’allaitement si elles sont malades, que ce soit d’une maladie aigüe ou chronique. En fait, Il semble que toute maladie chez la mère soit prise comme une opportunité de « permettre aux mères l’arrêt de l’allaitement » au...

0
3

Allaitement et prise de médicaments chez la mère

Voici l’une des questions les plus courantes que je reçois: “On m’a prescrit un traitement x et l’on m’a dit que je ne pouvais pas allaiter. Est-ce vrai?”   La réponse courte est : Presque aucun traitement pris par la mère ne nécessite l’arrêt oul’interruption de l’allaitement....

0
4

La prise de sein asymétrique

Un changement en allaitement que beaucoup ignorent.   Il y a un changement dans la façon d'allaiter qui aurait dû avoir lieu il y a bien longtemps. Un changement vers l'asymétrie. Une prise du sein asymétrique. Savoir comment parvenir à cette prise de sein asymétrique est primordial...

0
6